School Governors


St Wilfrid’s Governing Body was reconstituted in July 2015 and now comprises of 12 Full Governors and 7 Associate members.

The Governing body is formed of:

  • 7 Foundation Governors
  • I Headteacher
  • I Staff Member
  • 2 Parent/carers
  • 1 Local Authority member

Foundation Governors are appointed by the Diocese. They are drawn from a wide area of the community and bring different areas of expertise to the Governing body.

The Headteacher is an ex-officio member by virtue of their post All governors serve a 4 year term except the Headteacher.

The staff governor is elected by other members of staff.

Parent governors are elected by the other parent/carers from the school.

The Local Authority governor is appointed by the Local Authority.

The Associate members do not have voting rights at Full Governor meetings. They are appointed as valuable contributors specifically in their areas of expertise. Currently all of St Wilfrid’s associate members are staff members, but the Governors are free to appoint other specialists as the need arises.

Governors’ Information and Duties

Please click here to see more information about our Governors and their duties.

Register of interests

Please click on the link to read the register of interests: Register of Governor Interests 2015-16

Our Current Governing Body

NameRoleEnd of Office
Mr Philip GidmanChair of Governors
Foundation Governor
Mgr Tony BarryFoundation Governor31.08.2017
Miss Carol D'SouzaFoundation Governor17.09.2017
Mr Michael FerryHeadteacher
Mrs Mary GallagherFoundation Governor31.08.2017
Mr Kevin HarrisonVice Chair of Governors
Foundation Governor
Mrs Ann OddyFoundation Governor17.09.2017
Mrs Jacqueline RobinsonFoundation Governor31.08.2017
Mrs Jo PegleyLocal Authority Governor21-03-2021
Mrs Fran KerrStaff Governor04.02.2021
Mrs Zoe TaylorParent Governor20.05.2020
Mr Jonathan BrydonParent Governor21.11.2017


Full Governing Body Meeting Minutes

Please use the links below to download copies of Full Governing Body Meeting Minutes:

FGB Meeting Minutes 06.09.16

FGB Meeting Minute 15.06.16

FGB Meeting Minutes 27.04.16

FGB Meeting Minutes 15.03.16

FGB Meeting Minutes 23.02.16

For any previous minutes please contact the Clerk to Governors.



Clerk to the Governors

Please send all correspondence to:

Mrs Christine James-Bailey
Clerk to the Governors
St Wilfrid’s Catholic School
St Wilfrid’s Way
Old Horsham Road
West Sussex RH10 8PG

Email: c.james-bailey@stwilfrids.com