Our Curriculum

Key Stage 3
At St Wilfrid’s Key Stage 3 is completed in Years 7,8 and 9. Students are taught in subject areas and follow the new National Curriculum. As well as developing students knowledge and understanding of content in lessons there is a clear focus on developing student’s skills of learning. All students also take part in our Immersion Day Enrichment programme which provides them with even further opportunities.

Key Stage 4
Students complete their Key Stage 4 option choices in Year 9 in preparation to starting them in Year 10. Key Stage 4 is completed in Year’s 10 and 11. All students study the compulsory subjects which are: English; Maths; Science; Religious Education; PSHE*; Physical Education* and Enrichment* (*these are not examined). All the other subjects are then placed in option blocks which help ensure that students choose a broad and balanced curriculum, students choose one subject from each of the 4 option blocks. The option subjects are arranged into two option pathways enabling students to choose the appropriate GCSE or BTEC subjects that are offered.

Year 9 Options Booklet 2016

Subject Areas